Parsec Award For Best Music Podcast

The Parsec Awards were founded in 2006 to celebrate speculative fiction podcasting. Podcast shows are nominated by fans, and finalists are chosen by a yearly steering committee.  Awards are given in several categories ranging from content to audio quality.  One of those categories is Best Speculative Fiction Music Podcast, which was added in 2009.  The Parsec Awards are given out each year at a live ceremony at Dragon*Con in Atlanta Georgia.

The award is given to podcasts discussing and sampling music about, set in, inspired by, or spoofing speculative fiction.  The finalists for this year’s award were Radio Free Hipster by Z, The Funny Music Project by Devo Spice, and Pros and Cons by Jonah Knight and Mikey Mason.  Winner after picture.  








The FuMP won this year.  This is their second win and fourth nomination.  Since none of the FuMP’s artists were able to attend the ceremony one of the FuMP’s fans accepted the award on their behalf. 

They have stated that if the plaque were a little bigger, it would have continued to read as follows: “By Devo Spice, Art Paul Schlosser, Bonecage, Buzz Brooks, Carrie Dahlby, Confabulation of Gentry, Consortium Of Genius, Dino-Mike, Donita Smith, Flat 29, George Gidley, Glen Raphael, Grottomatic, Insane Ian, Jeff Kornberg, Jesse Smith, Kill The Band, Killer Calamari, Kobi LaCroix, Komrades Oppression Group, Lemon Demon, the great Luke Ski, Marc Gunn, Max DeGroot, Mel & El, Mikey Mason, Moneyshot Cosmonauts, Morning Sidekick, Nuclear Bubble Wrap, Ookla The Mok, Phil Johnson and Roadside Attraction, Power Salad, Project Sisyphus, Raymond and Scum, Robert Lund, Sci-Fried, Scooter Picnic, Smashy Claw, Some Guy Called Doug, Steve Goodie, Strange Changes, The Boobles, The Chris Waffle Experience, The Doubleclicks, Todd Chappelle, TV’s Kyle, Willie B Poppin, Worm Quartet, and Logan Whitehurst.”

You can watch the Parsec Award ceremony on YouTube.  Performances by Tom Smith at 22:30 and the award is given to FuMP at 52:30.



Leave a comment

Filed under News

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s